Most helpful review
New Reviewer

Interview Scam

I was contacted by Bankers after they "picked up my resume on CareerBuilder" to be invited for an interview. Nothing wrong with that, however here are the warning signs: 1. The person contacting me sounded like she was reading from a script. She was unable to give...
View full review
View full review
1333 comments
#1752694

I’d lump them in the insurance mlms. I had just gotten my insurance license and was looking on indeed.

Bankers life contacted me and set up an interview. I went to the 1st interview thinking it would be a normal style interview. I was lead into a room where a bunch of other people were also waiting for an interview. The room was filled with 70” TVs and iPads and other expensive electronics and prizes.

They talked about the job to all of us which mostly focused on all the sales insensitives surrounding us that were so much they had to store them there and free vacations for top earners and how he just got a 50k bonus check from the company. At the end they had us take quiz/survey type things that tell how good you’d be at the job and what kind of sales person you’d be. For the second interview I was told I “aced the test”...I’m sure now everyone did. The second interview didn’t want to know anything about me or my work history.

It was just them asking me for my questions so they could brag while answering them. Then I got a 3rd interview where I was told they’d love to have me. But my license wasn’t enough. I ended up paying out of my pocket for their online company and product specific training.

Once I paid for and completed that I started working. I was an independent contractor with no wages or PTO or benefits. Yet I was required to be In The office cold calling people from 745 am to 4 pm but couldn’t leave at 4 pm without a speech about how I can’t succeed And am not dedicated enough if I don’t stay late (keep in mind I had a baby at home and was not an employee I was an independent contractor with no w4 and no compensation or overtime for paying late pick-up fees to do so at the daycare and not being home with my baby) I also had to pay monthly fees to use their office supplies since I wasn’t an employee even though I was literally required to be there and use their stuff. I noticed all the big expensive prizes were gone and then noticed it was empty boxes kept in a back closet and carried to the interview room for their presentations where they then told interviews that they had so many prizes and insentives that they had no choice but to store them in the conference/ interview room.

They started asking if I knew anyone else that would want to get their license and join. They wanted me to make a list of family and friends in the job market so they could reach out. I made $45 in a month there and spent more than that to start. Not to mention all the gas from forcing me to spend my nights and weekends driving to a town 2 hours away to cold door knock with no pay since.

And the you’re not trying hard enough or dedicated enough speech for the 2 days I couldn’t drive to the town 2 hours away for cold door knocking sales because I didn’t have the gas money because there was no paychecks and I had to buy diapers for the baby.

And the list of addresses was from some database of all people in that zip code over the age of 65. They target the elderly in lower income areas with fixed incomes trying to talk them into buying or switching insurance

View more comments
ID
#192456 Review #192456 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Newark, New Jersey

Clown showed up at my door

One of them showed up at my door uninvited wanting to sell insurance. Starts off showing me pictures of his family waisting my time. Then he starts fishing for all kinds of financial information. I thru him out. Never let anyone on your property unannounced. Especially them.
View full review
ID
#3554279 Review #3554279 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Waterbury, Connecticut

Form 1099

My required minimum distribution for 2021 was not handled correctly; it was much less than it should have been. I requested a retroactive amendment to bring the rmd up to what it should have been. Instead of a retroactive amendment, I received my rmd for 2022. A note;...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3475678 Review #3475678 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lynnwood, Washington

Required Minimum Distribution

My required minimum distribution for 2021 was not handled correctly; it was much less than it should have been. I requested a retroactive amendment to bring the rmd up to what it should have been. Instead of a retroactive amendment, I received my rmd for 2022. A note;...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3442695 Review #3442695 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lynnwood, Washington

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

I have waited four months for My deceased Mother’s life insurance check. I have spoken with many folks and have received many promises about Delivery dates.

I have waited four months for My deceased Mothers life insurance check. I have spoken with many folks and have received many promises about Delivery dates. Two months ago it was sent to the physical address instead of my mailing address. That was my error. I should have received it to the correct mailing address a week later. Still two months since and I have not received it yet. Please check into this issue and hopefully it can be resolved quickly if it is put into the right peoples hands. Thank you, Debra Ownby for: Mildred Ownby deceased Policy number is 106**** and last 4 digits of S/S is 1085. 509-953-****
View full review
ID
#3273785 Review #3273785 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Spokane, Washington
Loss
$5
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Inadequate customer service and claim payments

Update by user Feb 08, 2022

I was contacted by the company and instructed to have their form completed and submitted along with the regular bill. We did so and still have not received a check since September 2021.

I believe that they are stalling us to the extent that we give up.

Unfortunately, we don't have that option. Our mother's well being is the focus and motivation to keep us trying.

Original review posted by user Dec 17, 2021
It's unfortunate that the automated system routes the phone calls to the Philippines. The attendants are ill-equipped to handle any issues relating to the interpretation of an actual policy and have no authority to do anything but look at the script on their screens. When you ask to be transferred to the U.S., they hang up on you. In addition, the standard recording claims to process claims in 14 days. Currently, we have been waiting for reimbursement for a claim submitted on November 5, 2021. 42-days to process a claim is unacceptable. If I knew this was the type of service I would receive once I started to utilize my policy, I would have never entertained doing business with this company. I will make sure that when my clients ask me for a decent long term insurance policy, I WILL NOT RECOMMEND BANKERS LIFE AND CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY. My next step will be to file a formal complaint with our state's insurance commissioner's office.
View full review
ID
#3170798 Review #3170798 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Daytona Beach, Florida
Pros
  • There no pros here
Cons
  • Non responsive way customer service treats phone calls
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

ABSOLUTE Dissatisfaction

This is an AWFUL company! My mother has paid premiums to this company for DECADES, now when she needs services she's paid for, Bankers Life CONTINUES to come up with reasons to deny her claim!

User's recommendation: Do NOT waste your money!!! The security and protection you think you're purchasing will NOT be available when you most need it.

View full review
ID
#2766024 Review #2766024 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tampa, Florida
Loss
$5700
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Premium payment

Update by user Feb 20, 2021

No response to verify receipt of premium payment

Original review updated by user Mar 23, 2021
Have you received my payment to pay through May? It was mailed Feb 5, 2021.!!!! That is totally unacceptable and very poor customer service!!! Beware of what is happening!!! I discovered that I had mailed my payments to...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2428315 Review #2428315 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • National well established & respected company
Cons
  • Customer service - poor
Loss
$30
Preferred solution
Apology
New Reviewer

LTC policy abuse of the elderly by stall tactics

This company did not hesitate to accept premiums paid for the past 30 yrs, but when my 89 year old mother lost her spouse and finally needed care as of last Nov 2020 due to progressive Alzheimers, they have come up with every excuse not to pay her claim. They have...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2407483 Review #2407483 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bankers Life And Casualty Company Claim
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Very shadey company

i dont have a policy with them and they took almost ninety dollars out of my bank account and first it was 15 days to put my money back so 15 days passed i called again and they said another seven days and thats passed so now i have to get a lawyer involved and police for fraud and my bank involved so all i got to say is do not do buiness with them they are crooks they try to said there medicare insurrance but when they come they try to sell you life insurance insteadwouldnt recomend any one doing buiness with this crooked company
View full review
ID
#2307376 Review #2307376 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • No regard for customers
  • Deceitful
Loss
$89
Preferred solution
Full refund

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

The absolute WORST customer service ever experienced with an insurance company - they should have their license revoked. Customer service agents are not knowledgeable and will tell you a lie. They are disorganized and route all calls to the Phillipines and your information is mailed out to erroneous addresses. They do not pay their claims.

User's recommendation: AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS.

View full review
ID
#2145136 Review #2145136 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fayetteville, North Carolina

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Angela Butigan and neglected payments by Bankers Life

6 months trying to get my mom into your system, which I must say is a poor excuse of a company supposedly committed to help dying people. I've been misled now for much too long by way to many representatives of this company and I keep getting no where. My mom is dying and I need these funds she has paid for in good faith. Can't this most outrageous issue be resolved at corporate level? Can't someone at this company please explain to me how and why there are such problems with your company regarding my dying mother and money she is owed by your company. This is despicable and I can't believe any legitimate business ever would have so many problems. The worse scenario now is an attorney. How gosh and so vile. I don't want to hire a lawyer but will if needed. You got my Gmail, you got my phone number. I suggest someone contact me ASAP, someone who will tell me the truth for once and resolve the matter ASAP

User's recommendation: warning warning do not approach very bad company very bad for America lots of misleading info and outright fabrications by customer service reps.

View full review
1 comment
#1918036

of course should Bankers Life get it together and do their job and pay this legitimate claim my opinion of the company may change drastically. We'll see.

ID
#2143786 Review #2143786 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • If you want to feel ripped off
  • Swindeled
  • Negligence runaround
Loss
$18000
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Long Term care policy

Update by user Aug 11, 2020

Bankers has changed to a third party payer on a long term policy that was written in 1993. We have paid in over 25000 dollars since 1993. The third party payer is now not paying what is owed since June and will not pay.

Original review posted by user Aug 11, 2020
Since the third party payer took over they will not pay on 1993 long term policy

User's recommendation: Stay on them, don’t quit. That’s what they want you to do.

View full review
ID
#2111206 Review #2111206 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chicago, Illinois
Service
Bankers Life And Casualty Company Medical Claim
Pros
  • Agent i have is great
Loss
$4270
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Insurance Expert Talks

Exposed: Types of Insurance Scams and Fails

Mar 7, 2021

The insurance fraud: What is insurance fraud? What are the worst cases? How insurance fraud is discovered? How to protect yourself from an insurance scam? In this video, Charles R. Gallagher, an attorney, exposes the most common insurance fraud examples.

Charles
Charles

Charles R. Gallagher, an attorney and managing partner with Gallagher & Associates. His practice focuses on insurance litigation, foreclosure defense and consumer law.

Tax 1099’s

I am attempting to recover the 1099 for personal discrepancy unrelated to Bankers Life and Casualty Producer (2104 - ****) timeframes
View full review
ID
#2098445 Review #2098445 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Germantown, Maryland

Tax 1099

Discrepancy with Tax Information 1099 Necessary for personal needs

User's recommendation: Thank you.

View full review
ID
#2098427 Review #2098427 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Slow claims processing and delay tactics

We filed a claim in mid-April. They sent a letter to our PCP requesting information. We received a letter 3 weeks later stating they had not received the requested information. I called the Dr's office and the information had been faxed to them the week before. I called the company and after a long while I was told that they did have the information. Saturday we received a letter with the header: S E C O N D R E Q U E S T IF YOU'VE ALREADY RESPONDED, PLEASE DISREGARD THIS LETTER Nowhere in the body of the letter does it mention what they are requesting. I spent half an hour on the phone with Customer (You-Ain't-Gonna-Get-Any) Service with the Freaking SOB telling me he could not forward the call to the people who had sent the letter and Me calling him A Bald-Faced LIAR! He tried to tell me that they are working on the claim; I called him a liar again; if they are waiting for information they need to process the claim, they're not going to do anything further until they get it. He did say he sent a request in to find out what specifically they need and to allow 3 to 5 business days for them to respond (by mail again). That means two more weeks before I know what they are asking for; two more weeks before we can pay the hospitals and ambulance company.

User's recommendation: Beware. Our Agent is great, but I'm not sure about the company.

View full review
ID
#1975008 Review #1975008 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Price and value is inline with others
  • Agent i have is great
Cons
  • Customer youwontgetanyhere service
Preferred solution
Apology

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article