Bankers Life And Casualty Company Reviews

Show reviews that mention
bankers life bankers life people insurance job interview money casualty phone
Filter review
Explore video interviews
Willie M Godley applied for a life insurance policy on December 7, 2012. He also signed a medical release that stated his medical records would be used to determine his eligibility for coverage and benefits. Bankers approved his policy and provided a copy on January...
View full review
View full review
Featured
ID
#1101467 Review #1101467 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bankers Life And Casualty Company Medical Claim
Reason of review
I had to file a lawsuit
Loss
$29297
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
Most helpful review
New Reviewer
I was contacted by Bankers after they "picked up my resume on CareerBuilder" to be invited for an interview. Nothing wrong with that, however here are the warning signs: 1. The person contacting me sounded like she was reading from a script. She was unable to give...
View full review
View full review
1333 comments
#1752694

I’d lump them in the insurance mlms. I had just gotten my insurance license and was looking on indeed.

Bankers life contacted me and set up an interview. I went to the 1st interview thinking it would be a normal style interview. I was lead into a room where a bunch of other people were also waiting for an interview. The room was filled with 70” TVs and iPads and other expensive electronics and prizes.

They talked about the job to all of us which mostly focused on all the sales insensitives surrounding us that were so much they had to store them there and free vacations for top earners and how he just got a 50k bonus check from the company. At the end they had us take quiz/survey type things that tell how good you’d be at the job and what kind of sales person you’d be. For the second interview I was told I “aced the test”...I’m sure now everyone did. The second interview didn’t want to know anything about me or my work history.

It was just them asking me for my questions so they could brag while answering them. Then I got a 3rd interview where I was told they’d love to have me. But my license wasn’t enough. I ended up paying out of my pocket for their online company and product specific training.

Once I paid for and completed that I started working. I was an independent contractor with no wages or PTO or benefits. Yet I was required to be In The office cold calling people from 745 am to 4 pm but couldn’t leave at 4 pm without a speech about how I can’t succeed And am not dedicated enough if I don’t stay late (keep in mind I had a baby at home and was not an employee I was an independent contractor with no w4 and no compensation or overtime for paying late pick-up fees to do so at the daycare and not being home with my baby) I also had to pay monthly fees to use their office supplies since I wasn’t an employee even though I was literally required to be there and use their stuff. I noticed all the big expensive prizes were gone and then noticed it was empty boxes kept in a back closet and carried to the interview room for their presentations where they then told interviews that they had so many prizes and insentives that they had no choice but to store them in the conference/ interview room.

They started asking if I knew anyone else that would want to get their license and join. They wanted me to make a list of family and friends in the job market so they could reach out. I made $45 in a month there and spent more than that to start. Not to mention all the gas from forcing me to spend my nights and weekends driving to a town 2 hours away to cold door knock with no pay since.

And the you’re not trying hard enough or dedicated enough speech for the 2 days I couldn’t drive to the town 2 hours away for cold door knocking sales because I didn’t have the gas money because there was no paychecks and I had to buy diapers for the baby.

And the list of addresses was from some database of all people in that zip code over the age of 65. They target the elderly in lower income areas with fixed incomes trying to talk them into buying or switching insurance

View more comments
ID
#192456 Review #192456 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Newark, New Jersey
New Reviewer

ABSOLUTE Dissatisfaction

This is an AWFUL company! My mother has paid premiums to this company for DECADES, now when she needs services she's paid for, Bankers Life CONTINUES to come up with reasons to deny her claim!

User's recommendation: Do NOT waste your money!!! The security and protection you think you're purchasing will NOT be available when you most need it.

View full review
ID
#2766024 Review #2766024 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tampa, Florida
Loss
$5700
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Update by user Feb 20, 2021

No response to verify receipt of premium payment

Original review updated by user Mar 23, 2021
Have you received my payment to pay through May? It was mailed Feb 5, 2021.!!!! That is totally unacceptable and very poor customer service!!! Beware of what is happening!!! I discovered that I had mailed my payments to...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2428315 Review #2428315 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • National well established & respected company
Cons
  • Customer service - poor
Loss
$30
Preferred solution
Apology
New Reviewer
This company did not hesitate to accept premiums paid for the past 30 yrs, but when my 89 year old mother lost her spouse and finally needed care as of last Nov 2020 due to progressive Alzheimers, they have come up with every excuse not to pay her claim. They have...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2407483 Review #2407483 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Bankers Life And Casualty Company Claim
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Very shadey company

i dont have a policy with them and they took almost ninety dollars out of my bank account and first it was 15 days to put my money back so 15 days passed i called again and they said another seven days and thats passed so now i have to get a lawyer involved and police for fraud and my bank involved so all i got to say is do not do buiness with them they are crooks they try to said there medicare insurrance but when they come they try to sell you life insurance insteadwouldnt recomend any one doing buiness with this crooked company
View full review
ID
#2307376 Review #2307376 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Deceitful
  • No regard for customers
Loss
$89
Preferred solution
Full refund

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

The absolute WORST customer service ever experienced with an insurance company - they should have their license revoked. Customer service agents are not knowledgeable and will tell you a lie. They are disorganized and route all calls to the Phillipines and your information is mailed out to erroneous addresses. They do not pay their claims.

User's recommendation: AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS.

View full review
ID
#2145136 Review #2145136 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fayetteville, North Carolina

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
6 months trying to get my mom into your system, which I must say is a poor excuse of a company supposedly committed to help dying people. I've been misled now for much too long by way to many representatives of this company and I keep getting no where. My mom is dying...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1918036

of course should Bankers Life get it together and do their job and pay this legitimate claim my opinion of the company may change drastically. We'll see.

ID
#2143786 Review #2143786 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Negligence runaround
  • Conned
  • If you want to feel ripped off
Loss
$18000
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Long Term care policy

Update by user Aug 11, 2020

Bankers has changed to a third party payer on a long term policy that was written in 1993. We have paid in over 25000 dollars since 1993. The third party payer is now not paying what is owed since June and will not pay.

Original review posted by user Aug 11, 2020
Since the third party payer took over they will not pay on 1993 long term policy

User's recommendation: Stay on them, don’t quit. That’s what they want you to do.

View full review
ID
#2111206 Review #2111206 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chicago, Illinois
Service
Bankers Life And Casualty Company Medical Claim
Pros
  • Agent i have is great
Loss
$4270
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Tax 1099’s

I am attempting to recover the 1099 for personal discrepancy unrelated to Bankers Life and Casualty Producer (2104 - ****) timeframes
View full review
ID
#2098445 Review #2098445 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Germantown, Maryland

Tax 1099

Discrepancy with Tax Information 1099 Necessary for personal needs

User's recommendation: Thank you.

View full review
ID
#2098427 Review #2098427 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Slow claims processing and delay tactics

We filed a claim in mid-April. They sent a letter to our PCP requesting information. We received a letter 3 weeks later stating they had not received the requested information. I called the Dr's office and the information had been faxed to them the week before. I called the company and after a long while I was told that they did have the information. Saturday we received a letter with the header: S E C O N D R E Q U E S T IF YOU'VE ALREADY RESPONDED, PLEASE DISREGARD THIS LETTER Nowhere in the body of the letter does it mention what they are requesting. I spent half an hour on the phone with Customer (You-Ain't-Gonna-Get-Any) Service with the Freaking SOB telling me he could not forward the call to the people who had sent the letter and Me calling him A Bald-Faced LIAR! He tried to tell me that they are working on the claim; I called him a liar again; if they are waiting for information they need to process the claim, they're not going to do anything further until they get it. He did say he sent a request in to find out what specifically they need and to allow 3 to 5 business days for them to respond (by mail again). That means two more weeks before I know what they are asking for; two more weeks before we can pay the hospitals and ambulance company.

User's recommendation: Beware. Our Agent is great, but I'm not sure about the company.

View full review
ID
#1975008 Review #1975008 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Agent i have is great
  • Price and value is inline with others
Cons
  • Customer youwontgetanyhere service
Preferred solution
Apology
New Reviewer

Cancel heath insurance

My father passed away and his health insurance policy needs to be cancelled
View full review
ID
#1844773 Review #1844773 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Terrible response time

I have waited since April 2019 for a copy of a new life ins. policy I took out. I've called and emailed many people to resolve this issue. When you call the local office in Greenville SC all you get is a recording. So sorry I ever dealt with them.
View full review
ID
#1816146 Review #1816146 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Customer service - poor
  • Runaround
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

About my policy

I have been since December trying to get reinburst because my fincee wasn't able to get his life insurance. I haven't received a check yet and was told yesterday January 29,2020 that a check still hasn't been issued.
View full review
ID
#1776834 Review #1776834 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lansing, Michigan
Service
Bankers Life And Casualty Company Life Insurance
New Reviewer

Steer clear of this company

Parents have been paying LTC premiums for years, finally at point of use. Have been trying for 3 months to receive reimbursements. Have tried calling the 800-621-**** number. It's a call center located in the Philippines. Can't understand a word they say, plus they have no idea what they are doing. They have hung up on me twice. Send e-mails and get conflicting responses via letters. Very frustrating. Getting ready to contact some lawyers to see what they can do. STAY CLEAR OF THIS COMPANY!!!!!
View full review
ID
#1758288 Review #1758288 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tucson, Arizona
Service
Bankers Life And Casualty Company Claim
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Work with the local branch

amazing results by working with the local branch to resolve issues
View full review
ID
#1750482 Review #1750482 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Called back in a timely manner
  • Work environment
Reason of review
Good customer service

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article